• RSS Credit Dusters

    • CDTV Launch! March 30, 2011
        Credit Dusters has just launched our interactive television show. The network is called CDTV and it will start out with a daily show about all things credit. You can go there now…tv.creditdusters.com.
      creditdusters
    • New VW and Other Purchases I Didn’t Make June 4, 2008
      It seems strange considering my profession.  I recently pulled a copy of my credit report through the credit watch service  I am a member of.  I needed to purchase a car so I wanted to see where my scores stood and shop for the best interest rate.  To my surprise I had purchased a brand new […]
      creditdusters
    • Loan Modification – The Best Chance for Success April 30, 2008
      This week we are discussing a painful, but important situation that a lot of American consumers are facing. It is so scary to think that you might lose your home, but we want you to know that there is hope. We want to be a resource to those folks because we have been there and […]
      creditdusters
    • Beauty in Simplicity Chapter IV – The Final Verse April 25, 2008
      My family lives in a small, rural town in Southern Indiana. We are surrounded by a soy bean field with hundreds of sprawling acres across the street and a large lake that adjoins our property in the back. Sounds nice, right? Why am I so discontented?What is it that continues to drive me toward always […]
      creditdusters
    • Beauty in Simplicity Chapter III – The Endless Road April 24, 2008
      I began writing about the subject as a result of my daughter and I going on a field trip to our county 4-H last week. All the modern day farmers talking about raising chickens, cows, rabbits, and living off the land made me yearn for a life like that. This is my journey…The truth is […]
      creditdusters
    • Beauty in Simplicity Chapter II – What’s in the Box? April 23, 2008
      In his book, Halftime, author and successful businessman Bob Buford comments on the purpose of money in the following manner: Mike Kiami is a strategic planning consultant. He is brilliant. He is intuitive. He is demanding. He slices through all the pretense and posturing, and hones in on the core. He does not believe in […]
      creditdusters
    • Beauty In Simplicity – Chapter 1 April 22, 2008
      “Stop this train, I want to get off!” – Vanilla Ice Yesterday I touched on the fact that I am soul searching for the simple life. My wife and I used to think the Amish had the answer. I now know, as I mentioned, that I do not have to buy a farm and work […]
      creditdusters
    • A Rabbit Meat Shortage, The American Consumer, and Something About The Simple Life April 21, 2008
      I went on a field trip with my 3rd grade daughter this past week to our county 4-H. I learned a lot about farm animals. It was quite amazing because I saw the farmer of today and even with all the modern technology, (like a $280K combine that has a stereo, GPS system, and two seats) it […]
      creditdusters
    • How To Not Blow Your Tax Refund April 2, 2008
      In my previous post I wrote about the importance of filing even when you owe. Today I am going to give some helpful tips on preparing for your refund. Whether you are getting $500.00 or $5000.00 it is human nature to spend your money two or three times before it even hits the bank. I would encourage […]
      creditdusters
    • How To Proactively Protect Your Identity March 26, 2008
      Freecreditdusters.com has a great article on ID Theft – Check it out
      creditdusters
  • Credit, Credit Repair, Credit Reports, Credit Dusters

  • Blog Stats

    • 8,260 hits

REAL ID: National ID Card Causes Concern.

“Welcome to California, Mrs. Smith! I need to see your Passport please.”

This is going to be the words that residents of several states will hear if they decide to travel outside of their homeland beginning May 12th of this year. The problem that these states have is with a little known law that was passed called the REAL ID ACT. So what is the REAL ID ACT?

The REAL ID Act is a national ID card scheme that was passed by Congress back in 2005. It turns driver’s licenses into national ID cards. There was no debate whatsoever on REAL ID as it was tacked onto a must-pass appropriations bill to fund the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.

From the beginning, over 30 states had a problem with this legislation. Since it was passed, sixteen states have passed legislation rejecting REAL ID, making nation-wide implementation next to impossible. However, “This is not – contrary to what some people say – just the federal government big-footing itself on the states” According to Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff at a Press Conference on January 11, 2008.

He also stated the following:

“Second, as I said, we are not building a large database for collecting additional information. What we are doing is using the existing network of databases, using information already held and collected by state agencies and by the federal government, to make sure that people cannot present phony identification by checking that identification against the original database.” – Did you notice he said “additional” – In other words, we already have your information what we want to do is dump it into a centralized system so that we can check on you anytime, anywhere, and for whatever reason.

“Is it somehow an invasion of privacy to require that when people present identification to come into a building or to get on an airplane that that identification be genuine and valid? Now I guess you could make the argument – and I know I certainly wouldn’t make it, and I doubt you’re going to find many Americans who would make it – but I guess you could make the argument that you should have the right to get on an airplane without telling anybody who you are, and that it’s wrong for us to be able to check a watch list to see whether Mohammed Atta, number two, is getting on an airplane. And if that’s your position, then you’re against all identification; you don’t want people to identify themselves in any circumstance. But as I say, I don’t think that makes sense, and I don’t think the American people [think that] makes sense.” – The words come ringing back to my head. “You are either with us or for the terrorist.” – There is no room for disagreement or debate with the Federal Government.

“And I’m prepared to defend this against criticism. I invite people, if they want – you know, if they want to raise privacy arguments or other arguments, send them in to us; we’ll put it on our website and I’ll answer them on our leadership blog, because I think the time for smothering this important 9/11 Commission recommendation with endless process and discussion is over.” – Mr. Cherrtof is not going to win any awards in diplomacy, but I can’t wait to send him my concerns so he can answer them in his condescending tone on his leadership blog.

Homeland Security spokesman Russ Knocke says without an extension, South Carolinians (Among the other states) would need a passport to enter a federal building or board a plane under normal screening after May 11. Do you not see, my dear readers, that America is just simply a shell of its former self?

Yours Personally,

Matt Sullivan  

P.S. Ironically this is an informative article from IRAN about our state issues and the possibility that Montana may receive sanctions. – http://www.tehrantimes.com/index_View.asp?code=164612 

Leave a Reply

